Finance Committee

February 17, 2017

My parish priest invited me Wednesday to be the chair of the parish finance committee. The invitation came as a surprise. I had been thinking of a different way of being involved. But the position and the opportunity spoke to me, and I could see myself reflected in it. I asked for three days to consider it.

Friday was the third day. I had made up my mind to accept the position. I would tell him at some point during the day. I go to mass on Friday mornings. Upon leaving church after mass, as I passed the statue of the Virgin Mary and the pathway to the parish office, I looked at Mary and I thanked her for all that she does, for being my spiritual Mother with so much love and for leading me to Christ. Then I was prompted to visit my parish priest at his office, so I did. This gave us a wonderful opportunity to meet, discuss and pray together, an opportunity I would not have had had I merely called in my answer, as I would normally have done. I informed him that I would accept the position gladly. 

Later, I realized what the gospel reading had been.

Gospel

Mark 8:34-9:1

Jesus called the people and his disciples to him and said, ‘If anyone wants to be a follower of mine, let him renounce himself and take up his cross and follow me. For anyone who wants to save his life will lose it; but anyone who loses his life for my sake, and for the sake of the gospel, will save it. What gain, then, is it for a man to win the whole world and ruin his life? And indeed what can a man offer in exchange for his life? For if anyone in this adulterous and sinful generation is ashamed of me and of my words, the Son of Man will also be ashamed of him when he comes in the glory of his Father with the holy angels.’ And he said to them, ‘I tell you solemnly, there are some standing here who will not taste death before they see the kingdom of God come with power.’

And the psalm had been:

Psalm 32(33):10-15

Happy the people the Lord has chosen as his own.

He frustrates the designs of the nations,

he defeats the plans of the peoples.

His own designs shall stand for ever,

the plans of his heart from age to age.

Happy the people the Lord has chosen as his own.

They are happy, whose God is the Lord,

the people he has chosen as his own.

From the heavens the Lord looks forth,

he sees all the children of men.

Happy the people the Lord has chosen as his own.

From the place where he dwells he gazes

on all the dwellers on the earth;

he who shapes the hearts of them all;

and considers all their deeds.

Happy the people the Lord has chosen as his own.

Leave a Reply

