The night ends

March 2, 2017, second day of Lent

I had been going through a dark night of the soul. I couldn’t see God everywhere as well as I could before, enthralled and amazed and feeling warm in his arms every waking moment, though I tried. This had been since my trial with my friend. It had gotten better, but I was still bruised. Then yesterday, I noticed it had vanished. It happened to be Ash Wednesday. I could really connect better with Him and Christ and the Holy Spirit. It had been building up to this the last couple of days. 

And then this morning I woke up to the words in my head: la noche termina. I don’t speak a word of Spanish, so I looked it up. It means “the night ends”. St. John of the Cross was a Spaniard, like my grandfather, and it is he who developed the notion of the dark night of the soul.

How blessed I feel.

Leave a Reply

